Committee named for Dearing, Sojourner election challenge

With the opening of the legislative session Tuesday, Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves appointed a five-member committee to hear the challenge. Committee members include senators Rita Parks, Hillman Frazier, Sally Doty, Joey Fillingane and Terry Burton.

Burton will serve as the chairman and the at-large member of the committee, while the other four represent the state’s four congressional districts. Frazier is the committee’s sole Democrat.

“The first, third, and fourth congressional districts all have a majority of their senators as Republicans, so obviously it made sense for Republicans to represent them; in the second district, there is a majority of Democrats, so it makes sense to appoint a Democrat to represent the district,” Reeves said.

Natchez Democrat