Conservative Neil Whaley Flips Former Democrat Senate Leader’s State Legislative Seat ​

WASHINGTON, D.C. (November 28th, 2017) — Republican State Leadership Committee President Matt Walter released the following statement upon Neil Whaley’s special election victory for Mississippi’s 10th Senate district:

“Neil Whaley’s victory tonight shows that strong candidates with a background in creating jobs can flip state legislative seats in traditionally Democrat-held districts. The Mississippi Senate Republican supermajority will grow thanks to the leadership of Lt. Governor Tate Reeves, who has led the way in passing conservative reforms to strengthen Mississippi’s economy.”

Mississippi’s 10th Senate district was previously held by Senate Democrat Minority Leader Bill Stone who ran uncontested in his re-election bid in 2015.

Whaley’s victory makes this the third state legislative seat to flip from Democrat to Republican control this year. In November Republican Chris Brown defeated Democrat Colin Bell for a seat in the New Jersey Senate. The 2nd legislative district, previously held by a Democrat, voted for Hillary Clinton by a 12% margin in 2016 and for President Obama by a 20% margin in 2012. Earlier this year, Republicans also flipped control of Louisiana House District 42, a district that had been held by Democrats since at least 1972.