RNC sets 60 Dems in healthcare radio ad crosshairs

The RNC will spend almost $1 million on the radio ads targeting centrist and vulnerable lawmakers in 33 states in addition to television ads airing in Nevada, North Dakota, and Arkansas. The ad blitz urges the members of Congress to oppose the healthcare reform proposals currently being debated in the House and Senate.

The RNC is especially focusing its radio ads in Ohio and Pennsylvania, targeting five lawmakers in the Buckeye state and four in the Keystone state. Congressmen in swing states Arizona, Colorado, Florida, North Carolina, and Virginia will also feel the heat.

“The Democrats targeted by the RNC radio ad have campaigned on fiscal responsibility, and now these Democrats are being held accountable to their campaign promises as they prepare to vote on a government-run health care bill that will cost American taxpayers $1.6 trillion, add to the record budget deficit and burden American families and small businesses with higher taxes,” said RNC spokeswoman Gail Gitcho.

The ad blitz comes as healthcare negotiations wrap up in the House and Senate and lawmakers head back to their states and districts for the August recess in Congress before heading back to Washington to continue work on reform legislation.

Listen to a sample radio ad here.

AL-02 Rep. Bobby Bright
AL-05 Rep. Parker Griffith
AR-02 Rep. Vic Snyder
AZ-01 Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick
AZ-05 Rep. Harry Mitchell
AZ-08 Rep. Gabrielle Giffords
CA-11 Rep. Jerry McNerney
CO-03 Rep. John Salazar
CO-04 Rep. Betsy Markey
CO-07 Rep. Ed Perlmutter
FL-02 Rep. Allen Boyd
FL-08 Rep. Alan Grayson
FL-24 Rep. Suzanne Kosmas
GA-08 Rep. Jim Marshall
GA-12 Rep. John Barrow
IA-03 Rep. Leonard Boswell
ID-01 Rep. Walt Minnick
IL-11 Rep. Debbie Halvorson
KS-03 Rep. Dennis Moore
KY-06 Rep. Ben Chandler
MD-01 Rep. Frank Kratovil
MI-01 Rep. Bart Stupak
MI-07 Rep. Mark Schauer
MN-01 Rep. Tim Wal
MN-07 Rep. Collin Peterson
MS-01 Rep. Travis Childers
MS-04 Rep. Gene Taylor
NC-07 Rep. Mike McIntyre
NC-08 Rep. Larry Kissell
NC-11 Rep. Heath Shuler
ND-AL Rep. Earl Pomeroy
NH-01 Rep. Carol Shea-Porter
NM-01 Rep. Martin Heinrich
NM-02 Rep. Harry Teague
NV-03 Rep. Dina Titus
NY-25 Rep. Dan Maffei
NY-29 Rep. Eric Massa
OH-01 Rep. Steve Driehaus
OH-06 Rep. Charlie Wilson
OH-15 Rep. Mary Jo Kilroy
OH-16 Rep. John Boccieri
OH-18 Rep. Zack Space
OK-02 Rep. Dan Boren
OR-04 Rep. Peter DeFazio
OR-05 Rep. Kurt Schrader
PA-03 Rep. Kathy Dahlkemper
PA-04 Rep. Jason Altmire
PA-10 Rep. Chris Carney
PA-11 Rep. Paul Kanjorski
SD-AL Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin
TN-04 Rep. Lincoln Davis
TN-06 Rep. Bart Gordon
TN-08 Rep. John Tanner
TX-17 Rep. Chet Edwards
UT-02 Rep. Jim Matheson
VA-02 Rep. Glenn Nye
VA-05 Rep. Tom Perriello
VA-09 Rep. Rick Boucher
WA-03 Rep. Brian Baird
WI-08 Rep. Steve Kagen

The Hill