Runoff today to decide transportation commissioner post

Voters in DeSoto County and elsewhere across the northern third of the state return to the ballot box today to choose a state transportation commissioner.

John Caldwell of Nesbit hopes to cobble together enough support from the rest of the 33-county northern district to bolster expected strong backing in his home county of DeSoto and put him over the top in the special runoff against Mike Tagert of Starkville.

Caldwell and Tagert finished first and second, respectively, in the seven-candidate Jan. 11 special election to fill the seat left vacant by the death of Commissioner Bill Minor of Holly Springs.

Commercial Appeal