Marshall, Tate County voters set for Senate runoff

Just after the holiday, on Tuesday, voters in most of Marshall County and all of Tate County will have the opportunity to go to the polls to select a state senator to represent them.

Neil Whaley, a Potts Camp businessman/cattleman and Sharon Gipson, a Holly Springs attorney and former alderwoman, were the top two vote-getters in the Nov. 7 special election to fill the District 10 seat.

Whaley, 29, was the top vote-getter on Nov. 7 with 2,236 votes, or 35 percent of the total. Gipson finished second in the five-candidate field with 30 percent of the total. A majority was needed to avoid a runoff.

Daily Journal