SEC offers best path to national championship

For the fourth straight year the SEC is home to the national football champion, and LSU coach Les Miles — who won it all in 2007 — wouldn’t have it any other way.

Florida started the streak in 2006 and repeated in 2008, and Alabama followed in 2009.

“It’s all healthy,” Miles said Saturday night prior to speaking at the Nike Coach of the Year Coaching Clinic at Ashbury Hotel and Suites. “It’s the way it’s supposed to be.”

Instead of looking strictly at the competitive nature of the conference, Miles said he sees the opportunity the toughness of the league affords.

“If you come out and win your division, that puts you in the (SEC) championship game and that’s a clear path to the national championship,” he said. “What a great, clear path that is.”