SEC Tournament preview: Kentucky recaptures royal role

“We’d like to win the tournament, but it’s not the end-all for us,” Calipari said. “Our goal is that seed. We lose the first game, we’re not going to be a (No. 1) seed. If we lose the second, I think we’ve done enough. We get to the third game, we’re fine. If we win it, we’re fine.”

Not that long ago, the SEC Tournament was owned by the Wildcats, who won 10 of 13 titles during a stretch that lasted from 1992 to 2004.

Under coaches Rick Pitino and Tubby Smith, Kentucky’s roster was always overflowing with NBA talent. Guys such as Antoine Walker, Jamal Mashburn, Walter McCarty, Scott Padgett, Ron Mercer and Tony Delk overwhelmed opponents with superior skill.