Six cities in South Mississippi will have new mayors

Six South Mississippi cities will have new mayors in less than a month.

Five of the six new mayors were decided in Tuesday’s general election.

Democrat Billy Broomfield, a state legislator, will be Moss Point’s next mayor. He had beat Mayor Aneice Liddell in the Democratic primary and Tuesday got 1,931 votes, which put him ahead of independents Dobbs Dennis and John Mosley Jr. Also in Moss Point, Democrat David Chapman led independent Linwood Grierson 258-256 in the Ward 5 race. Alderman-at-large Houston Cunningham beat independent Sam Craft with 76 percent of the vote.

Sun Herald