Jackson, Miss.-The Secretary of State’s Office has determined the list of generally recognized candidates in the United States and the State of Mississippi in the race for President of the United States.

“Electing our Commander and Chief is not a decision to be taken lightly,” says Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann. “This list will provide voters ample time to determine the qualifications of each candidate before the election to make an educated vote at the polls.

State law requires requires the Secretary of State’s Office to determine the list of generally recognized presidential candidates to be placed on the Presidential Primary Election to be held on March 8, 2016.

The following is a list of generally recognized Democratic Candidates:

Hillary Clinton
Martin O’Malley
Bernie Sanders

The following is a list of generally recognized Republican Candidates:

Jeb Bush
Ben Carson
Chris Christie
Ted Cruz
Carly Fiorina
Lindsey Graham
Mike Huckabee
John R. Kasich
George Pataki
Rand Paul
Marco Rubio
Rick Santorum
Donald J. Trump

Miss. Code Ann. ยง23-15-1089 states, “The Secretary of State shall place the name of a candidate upon the presidential preference primary ballot when the Secretary of State shall have determined that such a candidate is generally recognized throughout the United States or Mississippi as a candidate for the nomination of President of the United States.

On or before December 15 immediately preceding a presidential preference primary election the Secretary of State shall publicly announce and distribute to the news media for publication a list of the candidates he intends to place on the ballot at the following presidential preference primary election. Following this announcement he may add candidates to his selection, but he may not delete any candidate whose name appears on the announced list, unless the candidate dies or has withdrawn as a candidate as provided in this chapter.