Legislative Perspectives

State Sen. Tommy Gollott, R-Biloxi, is the longest-serving lawmaker currently in office, and is closing in on the all-time record as he begins his 48th year in the Legislature.

Gollott was sworn in to the Mississippi House in 1968. He served there until being elected to the Senate in 1979.

The late Walter Sillers Jr. served 50 years as a legislator, from 1916 until his death in 1966.