Thad Cochran, Billy McCoy among 11 chosen to receive medal from Barbour

Gov. Haley Barbour’s office announced the recipients today. They also include political leaders, judges, educators, businessmen and an international blues legend when the awards are presented Wednesday.

Barbour created the Medal of Service two years ago to recognize people whose work has boosted the state.

In addition to Roberts, a former state Board of Education member, this year’s recipients are Republican U.S. Sen. Thad Cochran; Democratic Mississippi House Speaker Billy McCoy; former Mississippi Court of Appeals Judge Mary Libby Payne; former Mississippi Supreme Court justices Reuben Anderson and Ed Pittman; former University of Southern Mississippi President Aubrey Lucas; former University of Mississippi Chancellor Robert Khayat; Jackson businessmen Jim Barksdale and Cornelius Turner and blues great B.B. King.

King is not scheduled to attend the ceremony.

Sun Herald