The title winners

In all, 10 Division I conferences won at least one title. That includes the Colonial with Villanova for FCS football; the Mountain West with TCU for rifle; the Northeast with Fairleigh Dickinson for bowling; and the Sun Belt, with Denver winning the ski title. The Sun Belt does not sponsor skiing, but we’re giving the league the title because Denver’s main program is men’s basketball, which is in the Sun Belt. Two Division II schools won titles — Minnesota-Duluth in women’s ice hockey and Augusta (Ga.) State in men’s golf.

Winner: The ACC. The ACC and the Pac-10 had the same number of titles with eight, and each also won one of the “Big Five” – Duke with men’s basketball for the ACC and UCLA with softball for the Pac-10. But men’s basketball trumps softball, so we’ll go with the ACC.