USDA letter addresses Mississippi disaster designations

The office of Mississippi Sen. Thad Cochran is pointing Mid-South farmers to a USDA letter regarding agricultural disaster designations in Mississippi for the counties of Adams, Claiborne, De Soto, Humphreys, Jefferson, Quitman, Warren, Wilkinson and Yazoo. Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Amite, Attala, Coahoma, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Leflore, Lincoln, Madison, Marshall, Panola, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica and Washington.
Benefits are also available for the following designated contiguous counties in the states of Arkansas (Crittenden), Louisiana (Concordia, East Carroll, Madison Tensas, East Feliciana and West Feliciana) and Tennessee (Shelby).

View the letter here.

Producers in both primary and contiguous counties are eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans (EM) and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE). SURE was approved as part of the Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008 and was implemented beginning on January 4, 2010.

Delta Farm Press