Wicker and 4 Mississippi congressmen inaugurated

One of Mississippi’s U.S. senators and all four of its U.S. House members were sworn in Thursday to begin their new terms in Washington.

All five were elected in November.

Republican Roger Wicker of Tupelo will serve a six-year term in the Senate.

The House members serve two-year terms. They are Democrat Bennie Thompson of Bolton in the Delta’s 2nd District and Republicans Alan Nunnelee of Tupelo in the northern 1st District, Gregg Harper of Pearl in the central 3rd District and Steven Palazzo of Biloxi in the southern 4th District.